Reviews


Your opinion is important to us.
Please leave a comment.

Review successfully sent.
Your review should get listed after validation

Thanks for your contact.


Super quiet spot with much space to relax

Ben & Marike from Zoetermeer, Holland

Friday 15 September, 2017

We almost spend two weeks in Casa Gabriel. Two adults and two big boys. Lovely that they had their own rooms.
Enough place to sit and to enjoy the view to the countryside. Large kitchen with everything you need. The sleeping rooms had enough space, enough cabinets and the bathroom was sufficient. For groceries and bread we went to Valenca do Minho.
Our trips were approx 50%/50% Spain/Portugal.
To summarize: a very relaxing environment

Source: HomeAway.co.uk

Fabulous place, great for families.

Josy H. from Nailsworth, United Kingdom

Wednesday 06 September, 2017

This is our third successive stay at Casa Gabriel, we love the house, pool, gardens its perfect for a family. North Portugal is off the beat & track compared to the Algarve, lots to explore, beautiful beaches. I would highly recommend to everyone!

Source: HomeAway.co.uk

Lovely views and great garden and pool for all to enjoy

Rachel W. from Usk, United Kingdom

Friday 01 September, 2017

We had a great time at Yavanna. Everyone loved the views, the pool and the table tennis. Thanks so much to the owners for providing towels for both house and the pool - it made travelling from the UK so much easier. Highly recommended.

Source: rentals.tripadvisor.com

Beyond comfort in the coastal hills of Portugal

Shan Dimin from Brooklyn, New York, USA

Tuesday 29 August, 2017

Casa Gabriel went well beyond our expectations for a few relaxing days as we traveled through Asturias then Galicia in Spain and into Portugal. The house was thoroughly equipped and immaculately kept with three bedrooms each with their own private bathroom, full living room and separate kitchen/dining overlooking a private garden and grill. Shopping locally for meals to compliment the properties "garden of eden" was a highlight as were the helpful, friendly and fun hosts who were always ready to help pave the way for our adventures. We traveled with two young children and couldn't have dreamed for a better place to enjoy the food and people of the region. My highest compliments and recommendation to future travelers.

Source: HomeAway.com

better than fantastic

Rod B. from Nailsworth, United Kingdom

Thursday 17 August, 2017

third year in a row we have now stayed. Hosts Sofia and Gustav are amazing and accommodation and location are amazing for family visits of all ages. Recommend you book early as expect they will get fully booked next year

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g2477857-d1372529-r514800194-Yavanna-Fontoura_Valenca_Viana_do_Castelo_District_Northern_Portugal.html#

Excellent family stay

Jorge Rios from Tui, Spain

Saturday 05 August, 2017

Prefect stay for family. We have stayed with some friends and kids.

The rooms are perfect for a relaxing stay, there is a really good family room were the kids could play.

Gardens and pools are ok perfect condition all amenities of the house are perfectly thought for the guest comfort.

Loved the barbeque address for the house had all of our meals outside. Perfectly placed and with every detail for a great night.

Really recommend the place.

Source: https://www.homeaway.co.uk

Wonderful place and great location

Jonathan Aguin from Reading, United Kingdom

Tuesday 04 July, 2017

Wonderful place and a great location. The pool is amazing and the garden is full of fresh and tasty fruit and vegetables. We have everything we needed in the kitchen and the rooms are nicely decorated.

Source: www.airbnb.com

Great location and property

Claude C. from Toronto, Canada

Monday 12 June, 2017

Wonderful location and property with pool. Immaculate villa with all comfort and tastefully decorated. Great host and children who let us enjoy their garden and produce. Would highly recommend.

Source: www.homeaway.co.uk

Sitio de relax recomendadisimo!!!

Lorena C. from Vigo, Spain

Sunday 30 April, 2017

Que decir de casa yavanna...
Ya nos hemos alojado en ella dos semana santa y vamos ya para la tercera,es un sitio con un encanto maravilloso,tiene todo para una estancia maravillosa.Si hace buen tiempo la piscina y jardines son increibles.Tiene unos colchones muy comodos y las habitaciones decoradas con gusto.
Y la propietaria sofia y su familia son encantadores ,siempre dispuestos a todo.
Q mas decir ... si vais repetireis.

Source: HomeAway.es

Very nice and comfortable stay in luxury old looking but totally renovated house

Iris Wilbrink from Ultrecht, Netherlands

Monday 17 April, 2017

We had a very nice an comfortable stay in this luxury old looking but totally renovated house. The living with open kitchen is big, light and nicely furnished. In the kitchen you will find everything to prepare a good meal. Beds are perfect. Everything was shiny and clean. And the garden.... I would rather say a park :-)))))) Huge!!!! With 'ping-pong' table, hammock, bbq, fountain, vegetable garden and.... of course a huge pool surrounded by a lounge-area. We loved the view from the garden over the mountains of Spain. We made a nice trip to Santiago, Braga and to the National Park. If you love to hike: do the 7km trilho dos moinhos (starts 3km from the national parks gate Lindoso: ask there for a map). You will climb up hill along a cascade to the top, with an amazing view. Thanks Sofia and Gustav!!

Source: www.airbnb.com

The most perfect holiday, wonderful accommodation.

Helen R. from Bristol, United Kingdom

Saturday 05 November, 2016

We are a family of five who stayed at Yavanna in April. The accommodation was stunning, the outdoor living feel was so unique. We had the most beautiful garden for our evening BBQs with stunning views. The sitting room with its log burner was so cosy when we wanted to come in. We all enjoyed the pool, the table tennis, and the thoughtful attention to detail that made our stay so comfortable. Sofia and Gustaf were so welcoming and helpful and could not have done more to have made this an exceptional holiday.

The surrounding area is full of things to do. We visited markets and towns and walked into Spain. The beaches at Moledo are amazing for the children and we could have done with a few more days to stay. We will be back!

Source: www.homeaway.co.uk

Absolutely recommendable!

Sara B. from Hamburg, Germany

Wednesday 14 September, 2016

We travelled with 5 kids (age 6-14) and we all had a terrific time at Yavanna. The premises (with a great pool area, table tennis, huge garden with lemon, orange and fig trees) were just perfect and Villa Gabriel very well equipped/maintained. The hosts are extremly friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the kids liked it so much that it was hard to lure them away and get to see at least some of the sights and nice beaches around. The landscapes of Northern Portugal are extremly scenic and what we really liked: not really touristy. We intend to come for another holiday and can really commend a stay at Yavanna!

Source: https://www.homeaway.co.uk

Excellent

Andrea L. from Germany

Monday 05 September, 2016

Unser Aufenthalt mit unseren Kindern war sehr angenehm. Die Vermieter, eine junge Familie mit zwei Kindern, sind sehr nett und zuvorkommend. Es ist ein wunderschönes altes Haus mit einem großen und liebevoll angelegtem Garten. Ideal für die Kinder zum Spielen. Der Swimmungpool ist super nach einem Ausflugstag. Alles ist sehr gepflegt und sauber. Das Haus ist mit allem ausgestattet, was man benötigt. Sogar Badehandtücher und Sonnenschirm für den Strand. Zum Strand sind es weniger als 30 Minuten mit dem Auto. Bis Porto, ins Gebirge oder Santiago de Compostella benötigt man jeweils ca. 1 Stunde mit dem Auto. Wir können das Objekt sehr empfehlen. Vielen Dank an die Vermieter!

Source: https://www.homeaway.co.uk

Magnifique

Caroline from France

Sunday 04 September, 2016

Magnifique endroit propice à des vacances reposantes. Très belle vue sur la campagne environnante. Beau jardin avec orangers, citronniers, agapanthes, potager... Grande piscine qui a permis de bonnes baignades contrairement à l'océan qui reste très frais. Le logement était très agréable ouvert sur le jardin et aménagé avec beaucoup de goût. Il est idéalement situé et permet d'explorer facilement le sud de la Galice et le Nord du Portugal (Porto à environ 1h15, St Jacques de Compostelle 1h30). Sofia a été très disponible durant tout notre séjour, soucieuse que tout se passe bien pour nous. Petite attention également à notre arrivée avec panier de produits locaux ou confectionnés par ses soins. Famille avec 3 enfants.

Source: https://www.airbnb.co.uk

What a lovely place!

sunandblueskyseeker from Southampton, United Kingdom

Saturday 03 September, 2016

We stayed for a week at Yavanna, and had a fabulous time. Our accommodation was roomy, clean and well equipped - we spent most of our time outside on the covered terrace where there is a large table, small garden and lovely views, or at the pool. Pool was great - also lovely views from here, good shade for when it's very hot as well. Sophia and Gustav were very helpful and have worked hard to make this a lovely place to go on holiday. Yavanna was close enough to the main roads to be accessible and we had great day trips out to Spain, up the Minho River white water rafting and wild swimming in the River Coura, as well as down to the beaches on the Atlantic Coast.

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk

Fabulous family holiday destination

jel-yorkshire from Croydon, United Kingdom

Wednesday 24 August, 2016

My husband and two teenage children stayed in Casa Dolinda for a week in July. The accommodation is excellent, all rooms clean and well furnished. We had several of our evenings meals outside enjoying the great views across the gardens and valley beyond and of course the pool is fab - my son particularly liked the fact that the salt pool didnt aggrevate his excema. This was our first visit to northern portugal but I think i prefer it to the Algarve now. Would recommend trips to Santiago da Compostela and Iles de Cies (for the latter book online beforehand). Sofia and Gustav are great hosts - helpful yet unobstrusive.

Source: https://rentals.tripadvisor.com

Une très jolie maison

Flora R from Lille, France

Saturday 20 August, 2016

Idéalement située, à 15 minutes de la Galice, 45 minutes de Braga, Ponte da Barca, la cote atlantique, et 1 h de Porto. Grands parcs naturels à proximité, cayak, paddle, à Ponte da Barca, baignades dans les rivières, le minho, et la plage à proximité. En pleines collines, village très calme, beau, belle propriété avec superbe et grande piscine avec filtration au sel, avec un vaste pool house avec fauteuils, tables et transat avec coussins, magnifique vue depuis la piscine. Arbres fruitiers et légumes bio que vous pouvez cueillir. L'accueil par Sofia et son compagnon, et les enfants, a été très chaleureux, panier de bienvenue, qui nous a été très utile ! Cuisine totalement équipée, chambres spacieuses, 1 en rez de terrasse, 2 à l'étage avec vue. Petite terrasse avec fauteuil et table, et jardin arboré privatif, photophores, barbecue "en dur", table de pic-nique pour diner sous pergola, avec une vue imprenable sur les collines. Jardin collectif très joli dans lequel les enfants peuvent jouer. Tout est très propre, pratique, et les produits de base sont gracieusement mis à disposition ( huile, vinaigre, sels, lessive, etc...). Nous étions 3 adultes, avec chacun sa chambre et sdb. Pour nous c'était parfait. La décoration est raffinée, fleurs fraiches, excellente literie, beaux draps, rideaux, etc... Les maisons sont " étages" sur la colline, l'intimité, le calme pour chacun sont préservés. Vous pourrez également profiter de la piscine pour vous seul, étant donné que le nombre d’hôtes est limité. Pour nous ce point était important. En résumé, si vous voulez des vacances calmes, en prendre plein la vue, vous déplacer facilement à la fois en Galice et dans le nord du Portugal, cette location est idéale. Nous la recommandons chaleureusement.

Source: https://rentals.tripadvisor.com

Relaxing holiday in beautiful countryside

irish family from Dublin, Ireland

Friday 19 August, 2016

We have just returned from two weeks in Yavanna with our three children (7,5,2). We had a wonderful, relaxing holiday. The kids loved playing the the gardens and the fabulous swimming pool (with it's magnificent views), swinging on the hammocks and playing with the owners' children. There countryside is beautiful with so much to see and do. We love trips to nearby Valença and Caminha beach. Being so close to the Spanish boarder means you can easily nip across for tapas any time you want. The hosts Sophia and Gustav were so welcoming and friendly. We will miss the late night barbecues and the lovely local vino verde. We hope to return in the future and we'd recommend Yavanna to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday with their family or friends.

Source: https://rentals.tripadvisor.com

Beautiful peaceful spot, pool is idyllic and wonderful hosts

Josy Hayes from Nailsworth, United Kingdom

Wednesday 17 August, 2016

This is our second visit to Yavanna, I would recommend Yavanna to everyone. It suits families, couples, friends you name it. There are wonderful beaches nearby, beautiful towns to visit such as Valenca, the National Park is nearby, water activiees on the River Minho and so much more. The cottages are comfortable with everything you need and the pool is out of this world. Gustav & Sophia couldn't have been more helpful.

Source: https://rentals.tripadvisor.com

Yavanna: un séjour merveilleux

Carole B. from Lille, France

Monday 08 August, 2016

Accueil formidable de Sofia, la propriétaire et de son compagnon. La maison Gabriel est composée de 3 belles chambres spacieuses, décorées avec soin et détails, beaux meubles, fleurs fraiches, décoration personnalisée, beaucoup de rangement, ventilateur, bref vous vous sentez chez vous. Salle de bain bien aménagées, fleurs fraiches, douches italiennes, rangement. La maison dispose également d'un salon convivial avec bibliothèque et télévision. Le wifi est offert. La cuisine est vaste, et très bien équipée, lave-vaisselle, four, vaisselles, il ne manque rien ! À noter que tout est très propre. Deux terrasses, un jardin, sur l'une d'elle, une table en bois sous une tonnelle en fer forgé, surplombe les collines, à coté un barbecue très fonctionnel, "en dur", gros photophores extérieurs. Enfin juste à coté de la maison, une laverie est à disposition avec les produits nécessaires. Des serviettes de piscine sont offertes également. Nous sommes arrivés avec beaucoup de retard, et avons eu un panier d'accueil et de bienvenue à l'arrivée, qui nous a fait très plaisir et qui fut très utile ! Tout est fait ici pour que vous vous sentiez comme chez vous. À noter que les hôtes sont extrêmement discrets. Vous disposez d'un très bel espace piscine, ( eau sans chlore ), avec un ravissant espace salon de détente la surplombant. Coussins, décorations, le patio piscine est très soigné, délicat, haut de gamme. La vue de la piscine est très belle, le jardin est à disposition avec coins repas et ambiances différentes, il y a des citronniers et orangers, potagers, plantes aromatiques, que vous pouvez cueillir ! Le lieu entier est dédié à la détente et au repos. Le service et l'accueil sont irréprochables, professionnels, bienveillants. En conclusion, nous recommandons les yeux fermés Yavanna.

Source: https://www.homeaway.co.uk

Perfekte Urlaubstage mit Yavanna

Clemens H from Hamburg, Germany

Sunday 31 July, 2016

Wir waren mit vier Kindern in Yavanna und hatten für alle das perfekte Domizil für zwei Traumwochen in Nordportugal gefunden. Super hilfsbereite Eigentümer, top gepflegte Wohnungen, ein herrlicher Garten und ein Pool mit Liegen haben einfach nur zum Entspannen eingeladen. Wir können Yavanna 100%ig weiterempfehlen

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk

Yavanna: A gem in Northern Portugal

Morin O. from Houston, Texas, USA

Thursday 09 June, 2016

Yavanna is a great retreat location for travelers who need a respite from the hustle and bustle of big city life. The grounds of the property are well maintained with outside sitting areas. There is a very nice pool area (although I did not utilize it because of the timing of my vacation). The accommodations are nice and comfortable. The view of the mountains from my room was priceless. The owner had recommendations of activities in the area and the best pastry shops. The location of Yavanna to Spain made it possible for me to also visit some tourist locations in Spain. I will not do this review justice if I do not mention the edible garden. I love oranges and they happen to be in season during my visit. Overall, from this experience, I will most definitely visit again. Tip for visitors (and it depends on where you are travelling from), I flew into Vigo, Spain and appreciated the short commute especially since I had to board a morning flight on my return home.

Source: https://www.homeaway.co.uk

Heavenly Escape

Marilynne McClung from Chester, Canada

Saturday 14 May, 2016

Our host made us feel very welcome! Sofia's husband drove to meet us and lead us to our location. A welcome basket of goodies awaited us which we really appreciated. Sofia's husband lead us to the closest grocery store which was a ten minute drive away and waited for us to lead us back. The location of our home was picturesque and the views were stunning.

Source: https://www.airbnb.co.uk

The most perfect holiday, wonderful accommodation and beautiful memories

Helen Rose from Bristol, United Kingdom

Thursday 28 April, 2016

We are a family of five who stayed at Yavanna in April. The accommodation was stunning, the outdoor living feel was so unique. We had the most beautiful garden for our evening BBQs with stunning views. The sitting room with its log burner was so cosy when we wanted to come in. We all enjoyed the pool, the table tennis, and the thoughtful attention to detail that made our stay so comfortable. Sofia and Gustaf were so welcoming and helpful and could not have done more to have made this an exceptional holiday. The surrounding area is full of things to do. We visited markets and towns and walked into Spain. The beaches at Moledo are amazing for the children and we could have done with a few more days to stay. We will be back!

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk

Semana Santa

Juan V. from Vigo, Spain

Thursday 07 April, 2016

Pasamos 4 días maravillosos. Casa estilo rural para poder desconectar del día a día. A 35mntos de Vigo y a 35mntos de braga. Destacar la amabilidad de sus propietarios y de la equitación completa de la casa, incluso su cocina, que tiene de todo. Grandisima la calidad de sus colchones y almohadas. Una zona con piscina preciosa.
Sitio perfecto para la familia. Recinto cerrado y seguro por si van niños. Como fue mi caso.
En general mi puntuación es de 9. Equipamiento de calidad, descanso y amabilidad.
Volveré seguro.

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk

Una Semana Santa perfecta

Angel S. from Vigo, Spain

Monday 04 April, 2016

Nosotros nos alojamos en Gabriel,lugar perfecto para estar con los tuyos y tus amigos. Donde podrás disfrutar de sus jardines con barbacoas, su preciosa piscina y como no una sala de estar donde poder echar unas risas en buena compañía. Yo sin duda repito.

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk

Una estancia idilica. Repetiremos seguro

Lorena Cancelas from Vigo, Spain

Sunday 03 April, 2016

Fuimos a Yavanna en el mes de marzo 4 dias 3 parejas y 1 niño. Desde el minuto 1 que llegamos fue maravilloso, encontrarse con una jardin de noche, iluminado con velas y luces fue amor a primera vista. La casa es una maravilla, tiene muchisimo encanto y la finca con su piscina y zona de hamacas es increible. Es un lugar de relajacion absoluta. Podria hablar mil maravillas. Y por ultimo secir que sofia es maravillosa, muy hospitalaria y siempre dispuesta a ayudar a los que nos hospedamos. Nos tenia hasta una cestita de recibimiento con productos tipicos. Pudimos probar productos de su huerta ecologica. En resumen ha sido una estancia de ensueño y que repetiremos seguro. Gracias por todo sofia.

Source: https://www.homeaway.co.uk

Excelente para descansar

Joao Teixeira from Porto, Portugal

Sunday 31 January, 2016

Foi uma Passagem de Ano bastante agradável. A casa rural totalmente recuperada, é muito confortável e acolhedora, com todas as comodidades necessárias para os seus hóspedes. Mesmo com o tempo de inverno que apanhamos durante toda a estadia, passamos bons momentos, pois entre uma vasta selecção de filmes, livros e jogos (óptimos para entreter as crianças) disponíveis, nunca nos sentimos "fechados" na casa. Um agradecimento a Sofia pela simpatia prestada antes e durante a estadia. Decididamente é um lugar para voltar!

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk

Um lugar relaxante

Milu Rela from Vila Real, Portugal

Wednesday 16 December, 2015

Yavanna é um ótimo lugar para passar um fim-de-semana ou umas férias. Num ambiente rústico, podemos desfrutar, em contacto com a natureza, de uma bela piscina; de espaço suficiente para caminhar e as crianças brincarem; de pequenos recantos á sombra de uma árvore, onde podemos ler tranquilamente, tomar um pequeno lanche, conversar, jogar ou simplesmente descansar. A casa Gabriel, onde ficámos, tem todas as comodidades necessárias para uma estadia agradável. O seu interior é moderno e bem equipado, simples mas de bom gosto e confortável. Um destaque para a simpatia, boa educação e afabilidade do jovem casal, donos do lugar, que contribuem, em grande medida, para o bem--estar e satisfação dos hóspedes.

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk

Fab holiday at Yavanna

Nathan R. from United Kingdom

Saturday 01 August, 2015

We stayed in Casa Dolinda for 10 days in July 2015. Family with 3 teenage boys. We had an amazing time....the swimming pool, table tennis and WIFI zone were great. The villa gardens were really special with oranges, grapes various other fruit which we could try. We had day trips to Porto (an hour away), white water rafting on the Minho, hiring three wheel bikes and cycling along the river. Visiting local beaches and historic towns.

The owners are really friendly and helped us book the various activities we enjoyed. The accommodation is in a rural area but there are facilities and supermarkets within 15 mins drive.

A hidden gem.

Source: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk